Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Shifty’ Book Review September 27, 2012

Title: Shifty

Author: Lynn E. Hazen

Date I Finished Reading: September 11,2012

My Rating: 4/5

I liked this book! I really was only going to read it because it was free at my dad’s Air Force wing picnic, but I ended up actually liking it 🙂 . The story is from the point of view of Soli, a 15-year-old boy living in a foster home. Soli has no idea where he comes from, who he is, or what his background is…but he wants to find out. I really enjoyed the story line, and read the book in one afternoon. Also, the book is broken down into several (and by several I mean 43!) chapters, making the book a very easy and quick read.

On a negative note, Soli is very dishonest throughout the book, constantly stretching the truth or just flat-out lying.  In doing so, he is training Sissy, (the 7-year-old girl who is also living in the foster home) to do the same. However, at the end of the story, Soli does sit down and come clean of these lies.

Even though I found the story line very enjoyable, the end was ( in my opinion) kinda depressing, but not entirely. I would recommend this book!

To find a copy of this book, follow this link: http://www.amazon.com/Shifty-Lynn-E-Hazen/dp/1582463220/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1348779853&sr=8-3&keywords=shifty

 

Leave a Reply

