Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Desiring God’ Book Review October 10, 2012

Title: Desiring God: Meditations of a Christian Hedonist

Author: John Piper

Date I Finished Reading: October 10,2012

My Rating: 5/5

I was very excited about reading this book; but at the same time, a bit hesitant, expecting the book to be extremely confusing and over my head. Not so! John Piper did an excellent job at presenting his thesis in a practical, comprehensible and applicable way.

This entire work focuses on the following statement:

The chief end of man is to glorify God by delighting in him forever

Some topics the book touches on would include (but not be limited to):

*God, being perfect and holy, delights in himself and his glory

*The heart of worship

*Is it even right to delight in and worship God for our own happiness?

*The heart of prayer

*Suffering for Christ

This book was very beneficial to me. It truly caused me to examine my heart to see where my joy and delight is found and whether or not I have a proper thirst for God. If you are truly serious about your walk with God and would like to enrich that relationship, then I would most definitely recommend this book to you!

You can find a copy of this book here: http://www.amazon.com/Desiring-God-Revised-Meditations-Christian/dp/1601423101/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1349878577&sr=1-1&keywords=desiring+god

 

Leave a Reply

