Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘John Newton’ Book Review November 2, 2012

Title: John Newton: Author of Amazing Grace (A heroes of the faith book)

Author: Anne Sandberg

Date I Finished Reading: November 2,2012

My Rating: 5/5

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost, but now am found, was blind but now I see”. The words of this song have been echoed by many, many people all across the world. But how many people truly know of the man, John Newton, who penned these words, or the events that led him to do so?

In this biography of John Newton, we follow his life from his teenage years on. We see a young, cursing, sailor who denies the existence of God and wonder how this boy ever penned such amazing, convicting words?  The struggles of John Newton truly broke my heart. However, the grace of God is so beautifully displayed in his life and testimony.

This book was a very easy read, only taking me a few hours. It was about 200 pages and divided into several small chapters. I would recommend this book.

You can find this book here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1557487855/ref=s9_simh_gw_p14_d0_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=12SFJSA80FAGRSCCZ1H0&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1389517282&pf_rd_i=507846

 

Leave a Reply

