Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘By Faith, Not By Sight’ Book Review December 6, 2012

thTitle: By Faith, Not By Sight: The Inspirational Story of a Blind Prodigy, a Life-Threatening Illness, and an Unexpected Gift

Author: Scott MacIntyre with Jennifer Schuchmann

Date I Finished Reading: December 6,2012

My Rating: 2/5

I really wanted to like this book. When I read the description I became pretty excited, expecting to open up the crisp pages and dive into and engaging, inspiring read. I was disappointed. As I began to read, I waited and waited for the story to get going and grab my attention. I can honestly say, I never got hooked (although it did become a bit better once Scott began to tell of his experience on American Idol) I had to drag myself to finish the book, which is very uncharacteristic of me.

In this book Scott tells his own story. He tells you of his being born blind, going to college at 14, graduating at 19, and finding out the day of college graduation that he had severe kidney failure. He shares his story from being a young kid, to a college student, to a dying patient, to being on tour with American Idol, and an aspiring musician throughout it all.

There were a few things that I didn’t like out the book. For starters, Scott is VERY repetitive, continuously telling you stories or details that you have already read once or twice before. The thing that I disliked the most was the fact that there was a hint of pride in Scott’s writing. At times it came across like he was boasting about how great he had handled what he was enduring (although I don’t think that was his intent). For some reason, this really annoyed me.

I am not entirely sure I would recommend this book. If you are a huge Idol fan, then you would probably enjoy it, but as for me, I was not too impressed.

Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.  However, my opinions are my own.

You can find this book here: http://www.amazon.com/Faith-Not-Sight-Inspirational-Life-Threatening/dp/0849947219/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1354825934&sr=8-1&keywords=by+faith+not+by+sight

 

 

Leave a Reply

