Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Christy Miller Collection Volume 1’ Book Review December 13, 2012

thTitle: The Christy Miller Collection Volume One (books 1-3)

Author: Robin Jones Gunn

Date I Finished Reading: December 13,2012

My Rating: 4/5

Never having even HEARD of these books before, I was not entirely sure what to expect. I was delightfully surprised! I found that the story was very intriguing, quickly drawing me in for good!

This volume contains three separate books, Summer Promise, A Whisper and A Wish, and Yours Forever. Each one adds to the story of Christy Miller, a young teenage girl who desperately desires to just fit in. After giving her life to the Lord over summer vacation with her aunt and uncle, she also desires to please the Lord. But both may turn out to be MUCH harder for her than she had imagined.

I definitely liked these books! I was hooked as soon as I began book 1, and they never left me go. When I was done, I found myself thinking I have got to find volume two! Gunn’s writing style was very interesting, with characters whom you quickly became attached to. I love how each book does so well of adding onto those before it (unlike some series, where the books just do not go well together), and enhancing Christy’s story.

The only issue that I had would be how obsessed Christy was with guys. It almost seemed that her thoughts were constantly on the boy that she liked…which became somewhat irritating at times.

Outside of that one fact, I loved this book! I would most definitely recommend this to others! (I would be cautious, though, of younger readers. Drugs alcohol were mentioned more than once).

Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

Check out these fun links!:

You can find a copy of this book here: http://www.amazon.com/Promise-Whisper-Forever-Christy-Collection/dp/1590525841/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

 

Leave a Reply

