Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Dirty God’ Book Review December 21, 2012

images (2)Title: Dirty God: Jesus in the Trenches

Author: Johnnie Moore

Date I Finished Reading: December 20,2012

My Rating: 5/5

I have always known that Christ was gracious. Yet at the same time I did not realize just how saturated by grace his life and ministry were! Dirty God brings our attention to the extreme grace of Jesus Christ from the time of his birth to his resurrection, and then calls us to that same level and life of grace towards others.

The first half of this book is on Christ giving grace to ourselves and others. It discusses how every aspect of Christ is gracious, even when that grace hurts. It discusses how we tend to have an entitlement mentality, which lessens our view of God’s grace, and perhaps even cause us to miss it!

The second half of the book follows the thought that since we have received the grace of God, we ought to extend that same grace to others in our lives. He shares how grace can be big, grace can be small, can go unnoticed, can change a life… can be hard.

I thought that this book was GREAT. It opened my eyes to aspects and details of the scripture that I too often look over without much thought. It caused me to examine my own life, to see where grace lacks (which was very convicting) and seek how to live out Christ’s grace to others around me.

I also really liked Moore’s writing style. He writes in a very easy-to-read way, with amazing illustrations and threads of humor woven in (which not only made it a beneficial read, but an enjoyable one, too!).  I didn’t have to force myself to read, but was excited to come back to the book.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this book. I really had no complaints. I found it to be an enjoyable, yet eye-opening read that would greatly benefit any Christian who is seeking to better understand Christ’s grace, or apply it to their own lives!

Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

You can find a copy of this book here: http://www.amazon.com/Dirty-God-Trenches-Johnnie-Moore/dp/0849964512/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1356098615&sr=8-1&keywords=dirty+god

 

Leave a Reply

