Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘One Thousand Gifts’ Book Review December 24, 2012

thCA7UOKB7Title: One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Author: Ann Voskamp

Date I Finished Reading: December 21,2012

My Rating: 3/5

When we are young, our perspective is simple. The simple, little things it life bring us joy and amazement. The dare that is presented and discussed in One Thousand Gifts is to live with that same type of delight. To delight in and give thanks for thousands of small, beautiful blessings that we are constantly given from God.

In her book, Ann Voskamp discussed the dare that she was given to record one thousand gifts, or blessings, bestowed upon her from God. She shares what she learned and how her heart was changed throughout the experience. She shares her ups, downs, and revelations, and then encourages you to embark on the same unpredictable journey that she did.

I had mixed feelings about this book. I did like some of Ann’s points, and found them to be beneficial, yet at the same time, there were a couple of aspects about the book that I truly did not care for.

For example, Ann’s writing style is very poetic. If that is your type of thing, then you will probably love it! However, I found it to be a bit irritating and distracting at times.

Also, I found that she is quit repetitive and long-winded. She tends to retell the same stories/revelations, and seems to drag some of her points or feelings out a bit too far. I found that some of her chapters could have been condensed into a paragraph or so.

Overall, if you can get past Ann’s writing style, then I would say you would enjoy and benefit from this book. However, if you cannot read poetic types of books, this would not be your book.

Note: I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

You can find a copy of this book here: http://zondervan.com/9780310321910

 

Leave a Reply

