Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Stumbling On Open Ground’ Book Review March 3, 2013

image

Title: Stumbling On Open Ground: Love, God, Cancer, and Rock ‘n’ Roll

Author: Ken Mansfield

Date I Finished Reading: March 2,2013

My Rating: 5/5

I have sometimes wondered what a person goes through when fighting cancer. I have wondered what exactly they endure spiritually, physically, and emotionally. Maybe that is why this book was so interesting to me, maybe not. Either way, I was drawn into the story of Ken Mansfield, and his wife, Connie.

In this book Ken lays out the story of his two fights with cancer, including a rare, life-threatening, “incurable” cancer. He is very real and honest as he does so, writing on the pain, heartache, and touching moments with God.

Ken is, no doubt, a talented author. He has a way of writing that draws you in, and holds your interest. He uses wonderful analogies to give you a vivid picture of the  hardships he endured. His humorous touches also adds to the read.

I would, without a doubt, recommend this book to you. I found it to be enlightening, heart-touching, inspiring and encouraging.  how gave me a look at just how heartbreaking and  excruciating cancer can be, both physically and emotionally. It made me more aware of how blessed I am to be given a strong, healthy body. And it made me even more thankful  that I have a God who is right beside me during the hardest of trials.

Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for may honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

 

 

Leave a Reply

