Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Take A Chance On Me’ Book Review April 7, 2013

images (3)Title: Take  A Chance On Me (A Christiansen  Family Novel)

Author: Susan May Warren

Date I Finished Reading: March 22,2013

My Rating: 5/5

Bitterness. It is like an evil that grows within us slowly and quietly. Often we don’t even realize that it is consuming us. Ruling us. Eating us alive. We fail to see that our own unforgiveness and anger is destroying us. This is exactly the scenario that Darek Christiansen is in. For far too long — nearly three years —  he had harbored anger, bitterness, and hatred against Jensen Atwood, the man who used to be his best friend. Then comes Ivy Madison, whose painful, unstable past has caused her to become lonely, maybe even bitter towards God. Both of these people struggle to forgive someone. They struggle to move on. Is it possible for them to forgive, accept, and love again? And can God truly work ALL things out for good?

This is one of those “I cannot put this down! What is gonna happen next?!” Type of books. I fooled myself into thinking I could read a few pages and come back to it later. However a few pages turned into a chapter, a chapter into a few more and two days later? A finished book.  You KNOW a book is good when it does this to you. It became quite obvious as I read that Susan May Warren is a very talented author to whom much credit is due. She works suspense, romance, family, faith, and healing together in a comical, engaging, addicting read. One that is very hard to put down.

There were several aspects of this book I liked. One in particular would be the characters. Warren does a phenomenal job  at creating real, down-to-earth characters who capture your heart and attention. Each one is well thought-out, contributing to the story. Another aspect I enjoyed would be the originality of the plot. Some books (especially in the christian romance genre) can follow a cliché story line. You know what I mean. Many books follow such a common theme that you find them predictable and unengaging. This is very much not the case here. The plot was original with unexpected twists and turns, as well as real struggles that are easy to relate to. These are two things that I was rather impressed with as I read the book.

However, the one thing that I loved was the moral to Warren’s story. This was not a book that I finished and said “aw! What a cute love story!” No. This was a book that had me saying “Wow! Susan Warren is a talented woman. And I can definitely see this book touching and ministering to many hurt people.” The plot, characters, theme, everything tied together to paint a picture of love, forgiveness, and trust. It shows us that none of us are more innocent than another before God, and that we, even though it may be difficult, should come to a place where we forgive others in the same way that God has forgiven us.

Overall, I would say without a doubt that I would recommend this book to you (although, due to more mature topics, I would caution a younger audience). I truly believe that this story will touch your heart, and perhaps even show you the blessing of and call to forgiveness.

Note: I received this book free from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

Check out the links below for more on this book and Susan May Warren:

You can find a copy of this book here: ‘Take a Chance On Me’ on Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

