Inner Beauty Forever

just my thoughts on books and stuff :)

‘Finding God In The Hunger Games’ Book Review June 19, 2013

image

Title: Finding God In The Hunger Games: 30 devotions to inspire faith
Author: Selena Sarns
Date I Finished Reading: June 18, 2013
My Rating: 3.5/5

I am an insane Hunger Games fan. After reading Suzanne Collins’ trilogy I discussed, contemplated and raved about the story for several weeks endlessly, and still do quite frequently. However, I never saw any Biblical parrallels in the plot, which is why the title of this book piqued my curiosity. I expected the book to be a bit far-fetched, failing to truly contain anything of use. Nevertheless, I grabbed my sunglasses, headed to the city pool, and floated leisurely in a tube as I explored this new devotional.
I was, in fact, delightfully surprised by what I found within the covers of this book. Where I had expected to find far-fetched, cliche points, I instead found biblical parallels that I could clearly see where I once had never considered before. Sarns did an excellent job of using passages of scripture and portions of The Hunger Games story to teach lessons through beloved characters. With topics ranging from unconditional love to gratitude, we find little life lessons tucked away between the pages of the trilogy.
There were only two negative aspects of this book that I discovered. The first is that although good points were made and explored, they were not necessarily deep or very thought-provoking. My second complaint has more to do with he book itself rather than its contents. I read the book within a day, yet as I neared the end, more than half of the pages fell from the binding, suggesting poor quality.
Overall, I would say that although this devotional is not extremely deep, I believe Hunger Games fans would definitely enjoy it. A word of warning, however: this devotion contains snippets of the story from all three books in The Hunger Games trilogy, and could contain spoilers for those who have not yet finished it.
Note: I received this book free in exchange for my honest review. However, my opinions are my own.

 

2 Responses to “‘Finding God In The Hunger Games’ Book Review”

  1. booklovers1 Says:

    What a shame that it had to break!! However it does sound like a very interesting read. I’m not a huge Hunger Games fan myself, however do find the plot rather interesting. Would you recommend this book for 14 year olds?? What are the issues/topics discussed??

    • Godrox1997 Says:

      I would think that it would be a good book for a fourteen year old who likes The Hunger Games. Some of the topics would be like the consequences of sin, the importance of loyalty in friendships etc.


Leave a Reply

